Skip to content

You say Goodbye and I say Hello. Hello, Hello!

May 21, 2012

 Last week someone tapped me on the shoulder to give me a goodbye hug. When I turned around she said, “Oh, I thought you were Lori!” and I chuckled to myself. My immediate thought was, “How funny that people think I look like Lori.” Then quickly I realized, “Oh no, how will I fill her shoes?”

I’ve been asked to post a little about my background which typically makes me uncomfortable. As an instructor I find it fairly easy to present to a group because I’m simply a facilitator helping share information. As an individual, I’m not as comfortable talking about myself, but here it goes… It all started in March, 1970… just kidding. After graduating college, I worked in business for a number of years. I realized I always ended up in a training capacity and I decided to pursue my desire to teach. I received my MAT and taught English at Clover High School for a number of years. (I also had a stint in coaching softball and soccer.) My next career was a stay home mom – of twins! It just made sense to me to enjoy every minute I could while they were young. I so enjoyed watching the miracle of development in my two wonderful babies. However, with such limited adult contact, I was getting a bit mushy in the brain and decided to return to school for another degree in Education; this one focused on Training and Performance Improvement. I returned to education and taught at Winthrop, and then accepted an opportunity back in the business environment. I was a Learning & Development Strategist, Performance Consultant, and Certified Professional Coach. In my last organization, I was the Project Manager for the mentoring and coaching program and facilitated monthly professional development sessions as well as group coaching sessions.  

So here I am, attempting to fill Lori’s shoes. She was obviously so loved and well respected and it is simply impossible to replace her. I can, however, commit to you that I will do my best to continue down the path she paved and extend as much support as possible to you as we work together to maximize student success. I’m completely thrilled to get to work at York Tech. I had no idea a job existed that truly combined my love for learning with my love for performance improvement. I look forward to working with all of you, and learning from you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 11:54 am

    Welcome to York Tech! We’re glad you’re here!

  2. Kerri McGuire permalink
    May 21, 2012 1:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing about yourself! Looking forward to having you as part of the York Tech family.

  3. Sally Herlong permalink
    May 22, 2012 9:30 am

    I will certainly miss Lori, but I am ecstatic to have you here! I thoroughly enjoyed our conversation on the phone yesterday and look forward to reaping from your expertise. Welcome, welcome, welcome!

Leave a Reply

